Polestar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I trust this little story will help others whilst exposing my own lack of knowledge. Where do I begin?

A bit of background. Well I’m a fairly tech savvy ex-commercial aviator in my 60s. I am a complete newbie to electric vehicles and about 4 hours ago I was intending to send this P2 piece of garbage back to Sweden or wherever it was cobbled together because it was not fit for purpose!

I had read quite a bit of the manual and believed I was set well for my journey. I had checked out a few local charging points: BP Pulse, Pod Point (Tesco car park), Ecotricity Highway at a motorway service. I must say at this point that the handover from BCA was pretty dire and took about 20 minutes. No PlugSurf RFID card, no jack, no 1st Aid kit and the onboard manual didn’t work. The delivery driver knew the basics of how to get the vehicle moving and how to get his way around the infotainment system and that was about it. I’m not sure what I was expecting.

Okay, here we go. How about a 250 mile journey that took me 10 1/2 hours - yes you did read that correctly! Appalling weather, driving rain, plenty of spray and just 5°C average temperature and mainly in the dark. Left home at 14:30 with 100% 270 miles predicted, arrived at 01:00 the next morning 250 miles South having crossed the Pennines via the M62 along the way. My two dogs in a crate on the back seat weren't too pleased either although they did get plenty of walks!

My intentions were to make just one stop along the way. I used motorways and A roads throughout and ACC where possible. I didn't preheat the vehicle I just set off. Speeds varied from 40 mph in roadworks to 70 mph on just a few occasions. By now I had worked out that in the weather conditions I would only achieve about 180 mile full battery range.