Polestar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Polestar 2; Magnesium; slate; non-PP; 19"; towbar
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apologies if this has all been covered previously but I’m new to EVs and also to using a discussion forum. Things moved fast: I had a test drive on 9 December, ordered on 11 December and delivery date is 14 January. I’d be grateful if you with experience could give some clarification on cables and charging. I did some searching on the forum but didn’t find the answers I sought.

The Polestar 2 is supplied with two cables. I understand that one has a 13-amp plug for a standard UK socket, but it’ll be very slow.

Can someone please explain simply the uses and limitations of the other one supplied? “Cable for AC charging station: 4.5m, Mode 3, Type 2 standard EU connector, IEC 3P 400V 16A 11kW.”

I guess that this is for use with “Public” charging stations. With the £450 reward credit my priority is to use those on the Polar/bpulse network, and there are two nearby.

One has 7.2 kW chargers with Type 2 Socket. Will the supplied cable work with them?

The other has a 43 kW Type 2 socket. Will the supplied cable work with that? If so, how many kW would it deliver?

The second also has a 50 kW DC Combo Type 2 charger. Does that have a cable attached that would connect to the car, so I don't use my own cable?

Does this cable work with a home wall box? Does it have the right connector? As it's rated at 16A presumably it would only deliver 3.7 kW instead of the 7.5 kW which home chargers are designed to supply. Like most UK homes we have only a single-phase supply.

If the supplied cable won't do any of these, what cable do I need to buy? Are there any available at the Polestar shop?

I need to install a home charger. Would it be better to buy one that is tethered, with its own cable if the one supplied isn't suitable?