Polestar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering a family road trip from Boulder Colorado to San Francisco (in a rental car) to pick up my Polestar, and then driving home again (in the P2). Total trip length, with sightseeing, would likely be around 3000 miles. (!)

I'm just getting started on logistics, and I figured that you all seem to be pretty enthusiastic about these sorts of things and might have advice and suggestions.

Here are some things I'm thinking about:

1) Route planning
I'm hoping to try not to go the same route both ways (although the options through Nevada are obviously pretty limited.

2) Charging stations
The return route will be governed largely by availability of charging stations. What's the best way for me to find our the location of all available charging stations, regardless of charging net work and such? Sorry, I'm new to EVs.

3) Weather
This trip will likely be in December. I won't have snow tires in either direction: almost impossible to rent a car with honest-to-god snow tires, and the P2 will have the stock tires when I get it. With a few major mountain passes between me and the Pacific Ocean, timing and route selection will be important.

4) Sightseeing
No sense driving 3000 miles without seeing more than the Nevada desert.

Discuss! :)

·
Registered
117 Posts
I'm sure you're probably aware of my road trip video from the e-tron pickup. Regarding I-80, in case you're concerned about the lack of a high power charger in Wendover, I would imagine you could make Elko -> SLC no problem, like I did, as the P2 should be at least a little better than the e-tron. There is supposedly a public 20kw charger in Wendover if you run into an issue, and there's another 50kw one about 25 miles before SLC, just no 150kw fast charger yet.

There is another way through Nevada that cuts more south, it adds a lot of distance and time but perhaps you want to sight see a bit.

·
Registered
117 Posts