Polestar Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered a base LRDM with no packs that is supposedly at port right now with an estimated date of delivery of 6/30/22 (previously 6/23/22).

When I placed my order in 3/2022, due to website ordering errors, I was only able to place an order through the South Coast Space (although Los Angeles/San Jose were closer).

Now, I need to plan where to charge on the way to Fresno and I am brand new to EVs. I was trying to only stop once, but I'm fine with stopping twice. For those outside of California, it's all freeway with a 4000' range between Castaic and Bakersfield.

2 stop plan: SC Space to Castaic charger (85 miles), Castaic charger to Bakersfield charger (77 miles) and then home (120 miles or so)

1 stop plan: SC space to Bakersfield charger (162 miles, but have to go through a 4000' mountain range), then 120 miles to home.

My concern is the 162 mile leg going through a mountain range. My backup would be to do a level 2 charge at the bottom of the mountain if I couldn't get all the way to the Bakersfield Charger. Anybody have thoughts or experience with real world range in 100 degree F temps?

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
4,277 Posts
I wouldn’t have range or charging anxiety (or should I say allergy?**) for this particular trip. A bunch of us have done SoCal to NorCal in this car.

first get free logins setup for abetterrouteplanner.com (ABRP) and plugshare.com and their associated apps. From ABRP you can plan out your specific route, with starting charge etc all laid out and with surprising accuracy. And can check out the charger suggestions in plugshare. ABRP suggests one stop when I plugged in your start/stop.

** - I may be commenting entirely to ask if you’re a rheumatologist

Rectangle Font Screenshot Parallel Number

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·