Polestar Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i have been having AC charging issues since day one with my car. It in the garage today for investigation. I took the two pictures attached of my AC trickle feed charger and of the car connector. After about 30 attempts to charge only twice have i had a trouble free connection when using AC (trickle or 3 phase cable) DC charges fine with no issues.
I have tried all of the recommended suggestions, waggle it around, hold it in, up down, sacrifice a llama etc. It will not charge without a fight.
being a Technical Support Consultant I thought i would apply some logic to the problem. What i have noticed is the female connectors are still perfect, no marks or lines or anything, the male connector on the car looks the same. I am now suspecting the cables supplied are not that good and the connection is just not tight enough. I know several of you have recommended or use a different cable/trickle charger with no problem. After spending just short of 50K on a car i would expect better equipment.
If you have time would some of you be able to take similar pictures of your connectors and share them? I an curious to see if any other show signs of connection.
Thanks
WhatsApp Image 2020-11-16 at 13.12.47 (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2020-11-16 at 13.12.47.jpeg

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
I've heard the Type 2 to Type 2 supplied cable isn't the best quality in the world .. some have been faulty.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Snap (see handshake thread). I was worried I had pushed the CP pin in by accident so your photo would have been reassuring to see a few days ago.

·
Registered
15 Posts
This seems to be a common issue. My car is loading at home (3 phases 16A) always whithout any problems.
Loading at public AC stations is always a hassle. Same troubles as you report.
I wonder if contact grease would make a difference. For sure it has something to do with the handshake.

·
Super Moderator
656 Posts