Polestar Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Obviously, at the moment this will only work for legacy Volvo cars and not the PS2 / XC40 Recharge - but it's great to see.

Not many car makers have an open and published API - usually they have to be reverse engineered from the existing apps - something which I've always thought to be an exercise in futility.

·
Registered
764 Posts
This API has been out for some time. There's a nice app for my home automation controller (Homey) which I have been using with my volvo for a couple of years.

Some automation I had set up:

• Automatically lock the car at 22:00 if its parked at home and not locked
  • Combined with a Google assistant command made via IFTTT, preheat the car using the command "Hey Google, preheat the car"
I hope that soon enough I will be able to do this again with the Polestar.

·
Super Moderator
1,354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I know! Silly...

I’m sure the app / API support can’t be far away.

·
Registered
764 Posts
This is new - the previous stuff was reverse engineered and Volvo themselves had nothing to do with it.
Ah, I didn't know that I had assumed it was a published API.

Edit: I hope they will extend the API. All you can do with this is get some statuses. No actions.

Reactions: ProfessorCook

·
Registered
3 Posts
This API has been out for some time. There's a nice app for my home automation controller (Homey) which I have been using with my volvo for a couple of years.

Some automation I had set up:

• Automatically lock the car at 22:00 if its parked at home and not locked
  • Combined with a Google assistant command made via IFTTT, preheat the car using the command "Hey Google, preheat the car"
I hope that soon enough I will be able to do this again with the Polestar.